Excel Moving & Storage of Raleigh Reviews - Raleigh, NC | Angi (2023)

4.0

05/14/2015

linda M.

We moved from Raleigh, NC to Menifee, CA to be closer to family in Feb 2015. Josh came and gave me an estimate in the beginning of February. I decided to go with Excel after reading positive reviews. I did most of the packing myself but paid Excel to come and box the big mirrors and pictures. The weather in February was not the greatest. We were fighting rain, ice and snow. If you are lucky enough to have Dean Osborne as your driver, then you will not have any problems at all. My furniture was loaded on his truck in a very timely manner by his Raleigh team (sorry guys, I can't remember all of your names)! He had a couple other homes on his truck and it was packed to the top! My boxsprings had to go between the cab and the truck. He went out and bought a special water proof box for it. The house was packed and off he went on Monday 2/23/15. I was not worried about my belongings at all. I worked with Dean and team throughout the day and felt very comfortable knowing he would be with my house! I only worried about the weather across the country! He was in contact with during the week. He gave me a delivery date of Monday 3/2 and there he was with 'Cowboys Little Orange Wagon'! He did not have a crew with him to unload and I was very worried with him doing so much lifting and moving himself, but he did what he could that day. I had told him that I had slept on the floor the prior night. He said he would not leave till he got my bed put together so that we didn't have to sleep on the floor again! He was back bright and early the next day with some help! I know he doesn't care much for CA, but I have to say, that if we ever move again, I will try to lure him back here to move us! Thank you Dean!

Description of Work
Moved us from Raleigh, NC to Menifee, CA

Category moving companies

5.0

02/24/2014

Stephanie C.

We just used Excel to move us to Wilmington NC last Thursday and Friday. They sent courteous, professional and responsible men (Francisco, Lynwood and Fredrick). The guys came in and put down floor mats thru out the house and blankets on the door ways and wrapped all furniture with blankets and boxes before starting to load the truck. They loaded us on a Thursday on time and unloaded us on Friday on time. We couldn't have asked for our move to go more smoothly. Thank you!!

Description of Work
Moved us from Clayton to Wilmington, NC

Category moving companies

3.0

02/07/2014

Susan H.

They were very nice and accommodating. They had taken all the rollers off of some of my furniture, and I saw him carry the rollers out of the house. He later said that they could never find them. There were scratches on my great-aunts furniture, and on my piano, they broke a big stone flower pot, the back piece of a bureau was broken, my dining room table was broken, and most of my furniture had scratches on it. The driver said he had to stop to avoid hitting someone, and I believe that is what caused some of the damage. .

Description of Work
I hired them to move my furniture from North Carolina to Wisconsin.

Category moving companies, piano moving

5.0

01/08/2014

Monica B.

From the phone call to Excel Allied Moving to request a quote for the move to the end, there was nothing but professional people, professional service and a genuine caring that this move went well for me. Josh came into my home, spoke with me, looked at what I had and worked up a quote. He took the time to answer my questions and also explained to me what I needed to look for in a moving company. If I went with Excel or another company he did not want me to be scammed or misrepresented in any way. My next contact was with Aimee. She let me ramble about my concerns, answered my questions and made sure that I knew she was available to answer any concerns that I may have. Contracts were e-mailed to me and again all my questions answered. Aimee kept in touch via e-mails, to remind me that she needed the address I was moving to; hours of operation so I could come by and pick up boxes, etc. The week before the move I started packing my stuff. I went by the Excel Allied Moving Companies location and picked up boxes. The gentleman that helped me in their warehouse was so helpful, made sure that I had different sizes in boxes, and paper to wrap my breakables with, and last but not least....packing tape !!!! I had forgotten that this was a move across the United States, not just down the street and my packing needed to be done in a different manner. Please note, I choose to save some money and pack myself. But Excel is a full service mover if you want them to be. Last, but definitely not least are the people that came to my house on moving day. They arrived when I was told they would be there. Dan was my driver and he had three other people help in loading the truck, taking my furniture apart and shrink wrapping everything. Again, everyone of the movers were polite, efficient and each knew what they needed to do. The professionalism of this team is commendable and I know some people that could take pointers from them :) Near the end of loading my stuff I broke down and was crying.....everyone was nice and let me get it out without any fuss or worry.....it was greatly appreciated on my part. This was a tough move because I am leaving "home" and my adult children. Excel Allied from the phone call forward made this a positive experience and I appreciate everyone that I have had the pleasure of being in contact with.

Description of Work
Move my belongings from Raleigh, North Carolina to Green Bay, Wisconsin

Category moving companies

1.0

12/12/2013

Richard C.

I am going to sue all involved. Missing thousands of dollars of property and thousands more damaged. Did NOTHING to recover the property not delivered.

Description of Work
Moved from Greensboro to CT.

Category moving companies

2.0

10/08/2013

Colleen R.

After a pleasant start very thanks to kind and polite female office staff who helped schedule the move, the below unfortunately happened. The movers showed up over half an hour late, stating they could not find the driveway to the house. This in spite of my explicit instructions to person making the appointment. As an excuse, the office contact later claimed that her notes contained the wrong street address for access our house. True or not, this information is irrelevant because no communication about how to actually access our house occurred between the movers and their office: no one had called me about fining the house and the office's only question to me was a verification of my address. Instead, the movers drove up and down the street for 30 minutes. When they finally did reach my home, they were adamant that no information about accessing the house was in their notes and that no one had informed them. The office seemed to not know what was going on until I insisted that I had given the complete information. As the client, I should not have to repeat myself or accept their tardiness due to their own lack of communication. Once the movers finally did get moving, they broke our bed - cracked the headboard. Yes, they did repair it. But at the end of service, actually wanted to charge us full price - even though one of the movers had left for at least 30 minutes to buy the material to repair the bed. When I protested that acted everything they had put me through, how could they even think to charge me full price, they acted as though I were the demanding one. (They did end up, however, taking off a whopping 1/2 hour.) Moreover, when I filed a claim for the devaluation of our (only) one-year-old bed, they refused any compensation. In fact, the manager who called me about it seemed put out that I had not paid more. Perhaps more poignantly, NO ONE ever apologized about having damaged our bed. (This was stated as part of the standard writing of claim form response, but no one verbalized this.) The overall impression these unprofessional people gave me was that I was a bother.

Description of Work
moved furniture between the two rooms we were switching (office and bedroom) on two different floors.

Category moving companies

08/28/2013

Paula T.

They arrived at the NC location when they said they would, the people who packed my belongings were great, and the move from house to moving van went very smoothly (3 movers). When the movers arrived at my home in VA (now only 2 movers), most of the unloading was just fine. However, they had not factored in the weight of the piano with 5 exterior porch steps, 8 interior steps, and a tricky turn in the foyer. Before they even got the piano up the exterior steps, they had broken one of the legs off. They eventually go it inside the foyer but said they would need additional people, at my expense, to try to get it up the 8 interior steps, and even then they weren't sure they would be successful. In fairness, I had rented the VA apartment very last-minute, and they were unaware when they left NC that there would be steps/turns involved (not that anyone asked). However, knowing how heavy the piano was (same loaders in NC were unoaders in VA), they should have known that 2 people would not be a sufficient crew regardless. I eventually told them to leave it in the foyer, because if I was going to pay any additional money to get it up the steps, I would hire professional piano movers (which I realize now i should have done in the first place). The claims process with Allied corporate has been relatively painless, but with a $250 deductible, I'm looking at a repair bill and additional costs to get it up the steps. Lesson: hire the right professionals for the right job.

Description of Work
I contracted with Excel Allied Moving and Storage to move belongings from a 3 bdrm. house from NC to VA. Within my belongings was a Steinway console piano, which they assured me they could move without incident.

Category moving companies, piano moving

2.0

08/17/2013

Robert H.

We had more breakage than I have every had before. Our clothes were wadded up in the boxes and were not hung up. It was not a good experience and I couldn't recommend them.

Description of Work
They packed our home on June 4th and 5th and put everything in storage and then moved the items to our new home on July 14th.

Category moving companies, storage units

5.0

08/15/2013

Zoe A.

They were flawless, from packing to unpacking. There wasn't one thing that they did wrong. They were the best movers I've ever had.

Description of Work
They packed and moved me from NC to NY.

Category moving companies

5.0

08/13/2013

Pat B.

Things went really well. They were punctual, professional and easy to work with. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
I purcashaed a Big Deal coupon for $49 for $100 Worth of Moving.

Category moving companies

2.0

08/11/2013

Francis G.

First of all, Allied moving and the movers themselves were great. They worked incredibly hard and were thoughtful and careful with our stuff. I want it to be known that they did wonderfully, and that this negative review is simply a reflection of the agents themselves. First of all, we got the in home estimate. The person barely looked around, and did a pretty lousy job of trying to come up with an accurate number. This was before we put the house on the market. He came up with what I figure is a high estimate for weight. He promised that the movers would weigh the truck, and that the total cost would reflect that weight. So it can't go above this estimate, but for a payload that is below this target weight it will cost less. Okay. We were selling our house, which meant and quot;stagingand quot; it. So we moved a LOT of our stuff without the help from Excel. A very significant amount to the tune of one truck and two trailers full. I asked if we needed a new estimate since it had changed so much. I was told and quot;noand quot;. This was very suspect to me. The big day came, and the movers (as stated previously) did an amazing job. As we were finishing up, the driver let me know what the cost was going to be. That it was a fixed cost at the over estimate given to me prior to moving a lot of the furniture myself. I told him that simply can't be true, and that I was promised that the number given was an absolute max. The thing is, he had no plans of weighing his truck. He hadn't weighed it prior to coming and wasn't planning on weighing it full. So if he didn't, where would we end up? I called my handler, and asked about it. She told me it was just a little error. No big deal. Little error?! It could be up to $1000 or more! That's not a little error. That is a VERY big deal. The driver told me that he would deliver on a day within the range given, and he had an estimated time. My wife and I had a very important Dr. appointment at that time, so we had to call my father to help. He drove 250 miles or so to be here to let the movers in and help them. About thirty minutes before they were supposed to arrive, I get a phone call asking if it would be okay if they came the next day. Things happen, and I understand that. This was greed. They wanted to get another move in at my expense. I had to bend over backwards and call in favors to get this move done and they were going to make it all for naught. This (again) was an agent issue and absolutely NOT a driver or mover issue. The driver ended up getting here four hours past the original time mentioned. They worked their butts off to get me moved in so that they could complete their five hour drive (to arrive around midnight) back. Long story short: Agent ineptitude made what was going to be a very pleasant situation stressful and terrible. I have yet to receive an itemized receipt despite multiple inquiries. This is all after a report that many moving companies are almost scams. I will never EVER use excel again.

Description of Work
Moved a three bedroom house approximately 300 miles away.

Category moving companies

3.0

07/15/2013

Patsy S.

I did not proceed with getting a moving estimate from this company because they were booked through 7/31/2013.

Description of Work
I contacted Excel for a moving estimate. Left a message and when no one returned my call I called back to find inquire about their availability. When I learned that they were not available when we needed them I did not engage their services.

Category moving companies

5.0

It went really well. They did a very good job. They worked with us. They came early and gone done quickly. They were very friendly and courteous.

Description of Work
Excel Moving & Storage of Raleigh did a long distance move for my family.

Category moving companies

5.0

03/23/2013

Cengiz T.

Hired Excel to move me from an apartment in North Raleigh to a home in Durham. The movers were very professional and showed up on time. They worked very efficiently and had the job completed in a much shorter amount of time that I was expecting. Definitely worth using Excel for your move. Also took precautions to not track dirt into the house.

Description of Work
Move belongings from North Raleigh to Durham.

Category moving companies

5.0

09/14/2012

Robert E.

The guys did a great job. They were both efficient and polite.

Description of Work
Move furniture from one two bedroom townhome about three miles to a new two bedroom townhome. Completely disassembling a day bed and putting it back together as well as moving all large pieces of furniture.

Category moving companies

5.0

08/14/2012

Julie V.

We have moved many times domestically and internationally and have never had such a smooth and carefree move. From the estimate through the final visit for the removal of debris the move was very organized, including how the movers worked together to expedite the process. I would strongly recommend this company and would not hesitate to give them an A+.

Description of Work
A moving estimate was given and agreed upon. Packers came on the designated date and packed, carefully and efficiently. Two days of packing then the movers came and loaded the truck. It was very methodical, like watching a fine tuned machine...everyone worked together and helped each other out. Very nice to see after some moves where the movers were putting in their time and working as individuals, not as a group. Loading and unloading went well. The movers were accommodating when it came to placing furniture, placing boxes etc., they were very happy to reposition furniture or move boxes to other rooms. A debris removal was set-up and that was as smooth as the move. We were very satisfied with Excel and would highly recommend them.

Category moving companies

2.0

06/15/2012

Andrew S.

Moving ten miles from one home to the next. Excel estimated that it would take three hours to complete the job which made sense after using them to move my wife's home a couple of months earlier. I had about half the amount of items than my wife and when they moved her it took them just about three and an half hours. I can say they were on time and the two movers (third just sat in the truck the whole time) were very polite but did not work with the same speed as the ones for my wife. In fact it took them five hours to finish with only one of the movers actually doing most of the moving the last hour. I didn't mind it taking longer until I saw the final assessment. Not only did they charge me more than the original quote - stating that since no one was physically at my house to make the initial assessment that this sort of thing happens. They then charged me the additional two hours of work time on top of it. Needless to say I was more than a bit upset with the after the fact tactics. When Excel called me the following day to see how I liked their service I explained how I was not pleased with their extra time to make the move and essentially charging me double what they charged my wife with less than half the amount of content. They said they would look into it and let me know if they can do anything about it. That was over a month ago and they just now today charged me the additional hours and fees. I wasn't going to write my encounter in Angie's List about them thinking they did the right thing and just charged me the original agreement but now I am truly disappointed in them and will tell everyone to avoid this company.

Description of Work
Excel was to move the contents of my home to a new residence. It consisted of a bedroom set, four recliners, a couple of small tables, lamps and about 50 boxes of house content.

Category moving companies

5.0

05/12/2012

Seth W.

They were very good with price and offered a great service.

Description of Work
I hired Excel Moving and Storage to help me move to my current location.

Category moving companies

1.0

05/07/2012

sherry G.

Needed small move to VA from NC and gave 3 wks notice but mover couldn't accommodate my schedule. Said he couldn't commit to date since it was a small move even though I gave him 3 weeks notice. I gave time where I could be available but he couldn't accommodate that either; said I would need to be home the entire day. They are not flexible at all with scheduling! Even though I told Josh I was going to be out of work, he didn't attempt to accommodate. Josh said he couldn't help me and to use another mover.

Description of Work
Needed move from Raleigh, NC to Chesapeake, VA on 6/2/12

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

The member needed a time specific load date on a small shipment that we could not meet without additional charges. She was given options but declined due to budget constraints. Interstate moving is a consolidated business in order to control pricing. The smaller the shipment the more days of flexiblility needed to load and unload. A three day load window was required for the member's move. We are sorry we were not able to assist her.

5.0

02/02/2012

Norma G.

They have been extremely professional, very detailed and careful. This is one of the first moves I have had where there was no damage to the house. They did a good job on the estimate and it was very close to the actual cost. They were very courteous and I have no complaints.

Description of Work
We used them for moving.

Category moving companies

4.0

09/01/2011

Robert M.

The move out and storage process were great. We did have a problem that we were not called before the delivery was on the way, so we had to scramble to get the house ready for them to deliver our stuff. Deliver was fine, on time. All folks were generally professional and helpful, but would have like a bit more communication from the company during the process, especially with the delivery. Also got an extra charge for storage in August which should not have received and had to call to resolve that. Overall, a good company to work with, but you'll have to call them to get information.

Description of Work
Moving out of my home in Apex NC, Storage of stuff for 2 months, and delivery to new home in Orlando FL

Category moving companies, storage units

5.0

08/28/2011

cori D.

FINALLY movers you can trust! I've moved 3 times in 4 years (don't ask) and the first 2 times were absolute disasters -- the 1st time they wrecked my entertainment center, the 2nd time was worse, and the 2nd time I learned you can't protect yourself by going with a national carrier, because there is no such thing -- everyone is just a local and quot;agent of.and quot; In fact I joined Angie's List specifically to find a decent mover. It's especially hard if you live in an apartment, because you have the added problem that since you can't fill an entire truck, you're looking for a mover that will give a decent and quot;window.and quot; These guys weren't just professional from the start (well, they all are, that's how they hook you) they were willing to give me a very tight window so that I could actually make plans -- and they more than stuck to it. In fact they did better than they had promised in terms of how quickly they would be able to deliver my stuff. More importantly, when their crew arrived, I was very concerned that they not do X, not do Y, not do Z (things the previous movers had done.) The driver, Brian, looked at me each time, shocked, saying, and quot;who would do that?and quot; and when I said, well, company X, actually got professionally offended. (He said, and quot;WE don't work that way,and quot; and he meant it.) It took Excel's 2 guys less time to pack and load my stuff well than the previous 5 guys had taken to pack and load it poorly -- by several hours. They were professional, friendly, they were communicating with me throughout (and quot;listen, we can do X or Y here, we'd suggest Y, but it's your choice,and quot; and so forth.) Once they were done and on the road, I never had to call my point of contact in the office, as has been the case with other companies, she was on the phone with me, to make sure I was happy, to see if I had questions, to make sure I was in the loop. They were the same on the back end, professional, friendly, made sure they knew what I wanted. Things were wrapped so well that as I was unpacking, a crystal glass slipped out of my hands -- I heard the loud CLINK as it hit the one below it. I was just sick, but when I unwrapped them, not a nick, a chip or a crack. I've pulled silk blouses out of the ward-drobe boxes that weren't wrinkled. There's one scratch on one dresser drawer, but the desk I marked and quot;special concernand quot; is perfect, and if you think you can move this many times without a few scratches you aren't living in the real world. Now that I know they make runs up here, I'm keeping their contact info so that I when I move again I can try and coordinate with them. If you find a moving company you can trust, that phone number is gold. I'll use them again whenever I can, and recommend them to anyone who asks. My only regret is that I left all my family pictures in storage because after the last move I figured it just wasn't worth the risk -- if I'd met these guys, I'd trust them to move anything, even all those irreplaceable family treasures, and I would have loved to have those with me.

Description of Work
They did some final packing for me (including the most fragile items I had, especially all my dishware) and moved me out of state, then unloaded me at the other end.

Category moving companies

5.0

07/07/2011

Pamela S.

We needed moving estimates for a move from North Carolina to Florida in a very short timeframe. We wanted a reputable company and did a lot of research (not just on Angie's List) and decided to get several estimates. EXCEL repeatedly came up as a quality company. We called EXCEL and they sent a representative out on the very day and time we wanted. Jeremiah was responsive, professional and very helpful - our move was a little complex because we have items in our home and a large off-site storage unit. The estimate was very competitive to one other. We asked Jeremiah to help fine tune the estimate to our specific needs and he did. Unfortunately, we were under a deadline to make a decision and simply ran out of time to continue to ask for rebids. We ended up going with another, large national company, but I am certain that if we had had the time, we could easily have ended up with EXCEL. If we ever need a mover in the future, they would certainly be at the top of the list to call.

Description of Work
We needed a moving estimate for an interstate move

Category moving companies

5.0

04/01/2011

Stephen G.

Outstanding experience from start to finish. I've moved more than a dozen times over the years, and this was by far the most pain-free, pleasant move I've ever had. I thought I would end up paying a premium for pro-grade movers (they have the Atlas Van Lines franchise for interstate moves), but they were very competitive. The movers were careful and expended extra effort in wrapping and padding our upholstered and wood pieces. Friendly, helpful staff from beginning to completion. Best of all, everything arrive intact and undamaged. I hope there are no moves in my immediate future, but if there were, these are the only people I would consider using.

Description of Work
Local move in Wake Forest.

Category moving companies

5.0

10/04/2010

Milind A.

The person who gave the estimate was nice and courteous. I decided not to use them because they are a larger company, and this is a small moving job. I have another company to use.

Description of Work
They gave an estimate for moving my belongings from one location to another.

Category moving companies

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Rev. Leonie Wyman

Last Updated: 10/20/2022

Views: 6315

Rating: 4.9 / 5 (79 voted)

Reviews: 94% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Rev. Leonie Wyman

Birthday: 1993-07-01

Address: Suite 763 6272 Lang Bypass, New Xochitlport, VT 72704-3308

Phone: +22014484519944

Job: Banking Officer

Hobby: Sailing, Gaming, Basketball, Calligraphy, Mycology, Astronomy, Juggling

Introduction: My name is Rev. Leonie Wyman, I am a colorful, tasty, splendid, fair, witty, gorgeous, splendid person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.